Speakers and Program

Photo of Bjoern Borbye Pedersen at e-navigation Underway conference i 2018

​The 2019 conference theme will be “Paving the Way for a Digital Maritime World” focusing on the benefits and barriers when implementing e-navigation technologies.

The aim is to bring together different stakeholders from the maritime world to share their perspectives and discuss questions like

  • What are the benefits and barriers for first movers in the industry?  
  • What is required from e-navigation solutions to prepare for a future with autonomous and smart shipping?
  • The need for new and revised regulations and standards when implementing e-navigation initiatives
  • What is required from authorities when implementing new navigational technologies and how can authorities make use of and implement e-Navigation services?
  • How have comparable industries (air, road) benefitted from digitalization and what can we learn?
  • How will new technologies impact the maritime industry 10 years from now?
  • How do we ensure that safety is obtained and risks reduced when implementing new technologies.
Again in 2019 the conference will take place on board the PEARL SEAWAYS departing from Copenhagen to Oslo and back.


This is the preliminary program for e-Navigation Underway International 2019. The program is continuously updated – we expect a few more speakers to confirm their participation.

​Conference Program
​Conference Moderator
​Astrid Haug

​Opening Ceremony
​ ​ ​
​Kitack Lim, Secretary General, IMO
​Francis Zachariae, Secretary General, IALA
​Andreas Nordseth, Director General, Danish Maritime Authority
Anette Dybdal Fenger, Director Business Intelligence and Development, Danish Maritime Authority​

Session 1 -
The Industry Perspective - Benefits and Barriers when being a first mover
​ ​ ​

Anne H. Steffensen, Director General and CEO, Danish Shipping

Todd Schuett, Innovations Project Manager, Kongsberg Norcontrol AS
Peter Holm, European Director, Sea Machines Robotics
Michael Bergmann, Senior Advisor, Rise - Research Institutes of Sweden
​ ​

​Session 2 - Regulation and Standards
​ ​
​James Fanshawe, UK Marine Alliance
​Omar Frits Eriksson, Dean IALA World-Wide Academy, IALA
​Peter Bergljung, SAAB Transpondertech
​ ​

​Session 3 - The Port and Coastal State
​ ​ ​ ​
​Leendert Bal, Head of Department Operations, EMSA
​Søren Westerskov, Chief Pilot, DanPilot
​Sunbae Hong, Director, Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries, Republic of South Korea
​Per Setterberg, Operational Project Manager, STM Validation Project, Swedish Maritime Administration
​Marat Ismagilov, Kronstadt Technologies
​Thomas Porathe, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
​ ​

​Session 4 - Cyber Security
​ ​
​Ashok Srinivasan, Manager, Maritime Technology and Regulation, BIMCO
​Bjørn Borbye Pedersen, Chief Analyst, Cyber Security,  Danish Maritime Authority
​Mads Bentzen Billesø, Project Manager, DFDS
​ ​

​Conference Closure ​ ​ ​
​Thomas Christensen, Special Adviser, Smart-navigation Project Office
​Jacob Bøtter, Author of 'Fuck it - Ship it'
​Francis Zachariae, Secretary General, IALA
​Anette Dybdal Fenger, Director, Business Intelligence and Development, Danish Maritime Authority

Abstracts are now welcome!

Anything e-Navigation relevant will be considered, but potential speakers are urged to aim for  topics that adds a perspective on some of the questions raised above.

Final program will be announced in January



​​Pre-register for the conference