Denmark elected to the Executive Committee of the IOPC Funds

Published 28-10-2022

On the ordinary sessions of the governing bodies of the International Oil Pollution Compensation Funds (IOPC Funds) 25–28 October in London, Denmark was elected for a seat in the Executive Committée along with 14 other Member States.

Karen Andersen from the Danish Maritime Authority was elected as Vice Chair for the Executive Committee for 2023 and will be supporting the Chair of the Committee, Mr. Samuel Soo from Singapore, in leading the committee meetings.

The IOPC Funds consist of the 1992 Fund and the Supplementary Fund and provide financial compensation for oil pollution damage that occurs in Member States, resulting from spills of persistent oil from tankers. Denmark is a member of both funds.

The Executive Committee’s main function is to take policy decisions concerning the admissibility of claims for compensation for oil pollution damage relating to incidents involving the 1992 Fund. It holds its meetings as and when required, but in practice two times a year, during the meetings of the governing bodies.

Read more about the IOPC Funds here